The Fear of Food

The Diary of a Not So Ordinary Boy

I read a post the other day, a simple, factual piece about the reality of parenting a child with complex needs, and it struck me, again, how much less I would know if it weren’t for my Sam.

I can use a great deal of what I have learned over the last sixteen years together in my professional life. Reading behaviour, the tiny expressions that flit across the face of a child, gives me insight into how they feel without them having to utter a word. I have learned when to press and when to back off because someone has had enough, as well as honed my ability to see the small steps in learning and look for the next.

Some of the things I learned though, the things I wouldn’t have learned if he wasn’t there, are faded. They slip into the recesses of my busy mind, and…

View original post 1,399 more words

Leave a Reply

