Statistics, data and assessment….or weighing pigs.

lenabellina

‘A pig does not get fatter the more you weigh it.’ Anon.

Yesterday I was involved in a discussion around the way we collect data and statistics around pupils with additional support needs.

It got me thinking about the issues around the processes for recording, assessing and diagnosing within education.

And I have not found it an easy think.

I know that lots of much cleverer and more famous people have written a lot about the issues of assessment and use of data and that I could look at such literature to inform my thinking.

But for this post, I want to try and establish some basic ideas for myself, before I am influenced by the thinking of others.

My thinking is based on my experience as an educator of over 20 years, the reading and research that I have done to date and my wider life experience.

I have…

View original post 1,477 more words

Leave a Reply

