Traps

The Diary of a Not So Ordinary Boy

You know, the more I write about life with Down’s syndrome, the more I seem to be hedged about with difficult moral decisions. Leaving aside the fact that I write about my own child, whose dignity I must protect, it’s hard not to fall into the Traps of Cliché.

There’s the ‘cute kid with Down’s syndrome picture’ cliché. OK, I took some pleasure in the fact that Sam was such a good looking baby. People used to stop me in the street to tell me what a gorgeous little thing he was (I think he was busy catching eyes and batting his eyelashes). There were occasions when I thought of making a fortune out of him on the baby modelling circuit (and then I came to my senses when I read that ‘children must be able to take direction’ – none of my children, then!). There are lots pictures around…

View original post 314 more words

Leave a Reply

