Values, beliefs and biases

bjpren

This is not quite the opening for this blog that I had anticipated. Yesterday brought the news that one of my students had lost her life, it seems whilst trying to save the life of her younger cousin. The teenagers appeared unaware of the dangers of open water swimming. We sadly see this type of news every year when the sun comes out.

She was ‘my’ student, but in reality, I only knew her for about three hours. In those three hours though, I learned a little about her past and a bit more about her hopes and dreams for her future. I can visualise her folder as clear as if it was in front of me now. A yellow folder with her name written in large, rounded letters by a member of staff. She wanted to work in a caring profession. She was an immigrant, she was an asset…

View original post 1,040 more words

Leave a Reply

