World Book day. Teaching ‘Classics’ to Children with SEND

cherrylkd

Yesterday I was contacted by @GuardianTeach and invited to share my favourite story for children with special educational needs ahead of World Book Day tomorrow. I gave this some thought. Of course I want to contribute, I always have something to say! On deeper thought, it isn’t quite that simple. It has to be age appropriate and also on the cognitive level of the children. I decided to recount one of my favourite sessions with my Key stage 3 class.

One of the most challenging things I do in literacy is to share the Classics with the children. They are entitled to the wonderful stories written by Shakespeare and William Golding in the same way that all children are. I have fond memories of acting out the balcony scene with KS3 a few years ago. Although the children had many additional needs, both medical and learning difficulties, they still enjoyed…

View original post 522 more words

Leave a Reply

