Mother

The Diary of a Not So Ordinary Boy

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERAIt’s not often that academic research drives me to tears. Actually, it’s not often that academic research drives me to anything, but there you are. I have an excuse; I’m on a course. Still, the last time I read anything in an academic journal it was about how views of femininity were expressed through medical texts about childbirth in the 16th Century. I, a young woman, a baby, was reading about long dead women’s lives, and the connection stopped there. It was four and a half centuries away after all.

But now, today, a fully fledged grown up woman, a mother to three children, I don’t feel the same distance. Instead of the pleasure of interest and stimulation, a firing of the brain cells and a connection between a philosophical standpoint and evidence, I felt a sense of shock. There, on the page, without me having contributed anything at…

View original post 703 more words

Leave a Reply

