Poisoned Chalice

The Diary of a Not So Ordinary Boy

I’ve just come downstairs from reading my son, that’s my middle one, a story.  I haven’t read him one for years, not since he got his hands on my Harry Potters and gobbled them up in one go; I haven’t had to.  No, instead, I’ve been handing him books, one at a time.  He quite liked the first of The Tripods trilogy.  He’s loved Swallows and Amazons.  But tonight: tonight it was my turn.

It was a little story, one I bought for my friend Lisa’s little boy’s Christening.  Her son has Down Syndrome too, so I wanted to buy him something special, something that would last, and something that wasn’t one of those hideous little boxes with ‘Baby’s First Tooth’ on the top.  So I happened, as you do if you are me, into a bookshop.  As it was for a Christening, I moseyed into SPCK.

I didn’t…

View original post 853 more words

Leave a Reply

