Out of the Ordinary

The Diary of a Not So Ordinary Boy

I’ve never been a huge fan of testing.  My husband, who is diabetic, has to do it all the time.  Several times a day he pricks holes in his fingers, checking his blood sugar levels.  It’s a way of life.  I’ve had my share of blood tests, but nothing in comparison to him.  There have been few times in my life when I have been ruled by the phlebotomist.

Those times have been most recently characterised by fear and uncertainty, I have to admit; fear of what the results might mean.  The tests never had any significance the first time round.  Back then, when I was expecting baby number one, I submitted my innocent arm without a second thought.  I had no idea what a ‘high risk’ verdict might be, or of how I would feel about the prospect.

After Sam was born, and Down Syndrome was diagnosed, the pair…

View original post 592 more words

Leave a Reply

