OCR Science Plus in a Special School

speciallyteaching

I’ve been asked a couple of times now how I use Science Plus (Entry level) in my current school, which is designated SLD/PMLD.  I’ve blogged before about my use of Science Plus at my previous, mainstream school.

As Science Subject Leader, I use the course as a way of stretching our most able students, as they (and more importantly their parents) are delighted that their hard work is recognised at a national level. I’ve been on several courses about this, and found them really useful – go, even if you are in the ‘not sure it’s for us’ stage.

In Y10, the most able scientists (usually functioning at or above p8, with the highest being L2) join the KS4 group. We have two hours a week, and it’s a mixed Y10/11 class. At the moment, I have 10 pupils in it. Once they move on to KS5, they progress to…

View original post 405 more words

Leave a Reply

